Heidelberg

Heidelberg University Medical Center

Division of Pediatric Nephrology, Department of Pediatrics
Im Neuenheimer Feld 430, 69120 Heidelberg, Germany

The Department

The Division of Pediatric Nephrology is the largest service for children's rare kidney diseases in Germany with an encatchment of 8-9 million population and more than 5,000 outpatient contacts and 800 hospitalizations per year. Our multidisciplinary team offers full medical and psychosocial services for children of all ages, including a prenatal consultation clinic. Our group has a special clinical focus on pediatric chronic and end-stage renal disease, treating more than 300 children in the pre-dialysis stage, on dialysis and after kidney transplantation in our state of the art facilities. Also, we provide the full spectrum of acute renal replacement therapies from neonatal to adolescent age, with more than 1000 inpatient treatments per year. 
The clinical service is complemented by a wide range of research activities, which include genetic and experimental research in a dedicated laboratory as well as the coordination of national and international clinical research consortia. The Heidelberg group leads patient registries and cohort studies in childhood nephrotic syndrome, chronic kidney disease, dialysis and transplantation and participates in numerous investigator and industry driven clinical trials.

The Team

Franz Schaefer, M.D.

Division Chief
Coordinator of ESCAPE Network
Lead PI of PodoNet Project
Co-Lead PI of 4C Study and PREDICT Trial
franz.schaefer@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Elke Wühl, M.D.

Pediatric Nephrologist
Research interest: CKD progression and hypertension in children
elke.wuehl@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Claus P. Schmitt, M.D.

Pediatric Nephrologist
Research interest: CKD-MBD and dialysis
Lead PI of Peritoneal Biopsy Registry
Local PI of EURAKiD Registry
clauspeter.schmitt@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Agnes Trautmann, M.D.

Pediatric Nephrologist
Research interest: Nephrotic syndrome
Coordinator of PodoNet Registry
agnes.trautmann@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Anke Doyon, M.D.

Pediatric Nephrology Fellow
Research interest: Cardiovascular comorbidity in pediatric CKD
PI of 4C Study
anke.doyon@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Betti Schaefer, M.D.

Pediatric Nephrology Fellow
Research interest: Peritoneal Dialysis
Coordinator of Peritoneal Biopsy Registry
betti.schaefer@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Andre Durudas, Ph.D.

ESCAPE Network Manager
andre.durudas@modis.com

Susanne Schaefer, R.N.

Study Coordinator - Contact for 4C Study
susanne.schaefer@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Mansoureh (Shabnam) Tabatabaeifar, Ph.D.

Laboratory Chief, in charge of biobanking and genetic screening studies
mansoureh.tabatabaei@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Ivana Bensa, M.Sc.

PhD Student, studying urine exosomes in PodoNet project
ivana.bensa@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Maria Bartosova, Ph.D.

Laboratory researcher in charge of Peritoneal Biopsy Registry
maria.bartosova@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Heidelberg University Medical Center is involved in the following projects of the ESCAPE Network: